Foxborough was settled in 1704 and Incorporated in 1778 named after Charles James Fox who was incredibly passionate about colonial independence as a British Parliament Member. Foxborough is home to New England’s largest sports arena attached to 24+ stores, 25 restaurants and 17 entertainment centers. In the Uptown area, travelers can experience the town’s history and choose from a number of different dining and shopping options. Visitors can explore the outdoors or opt to bring the family inside for an afternoon at various entertainment centers among other attractions!
The Town of Foxborough is Settled
The town is named after Charles James Fox, a Whig Member of the British Parliament. Foxborough was taken from parts of Wrentham, Waltham, Stoughton, and Stoughtonham (Sharon) and was incorporated on June 10, 1778.
Nehemiah Carpenter, Jeremiah Hartshorn, & Samuel Baker donated the land for a common meeting-house lot. The population of Town Of Foxborough in 1790 was 654.
Union Straw Works
The factory for the world’s largest straw hat factory, Union Straw Works was built in Foxborough. This factory was founded by local businessman E.P. Carpenter. By 1853, Foxborough was known worldwide as the “Straw Hat Capital of the World”. For many years, it was the largest straw hat manufacturer in the world and, in its heyday, employed over 6,000 people. The factory was destroyed by fire in May 28, 1900.
Establishment of Train Stations
Establishment of train stations for the Providence Branch and the Northern Division of the Old Colony Railroad in Foxborough (centre), Foxvale, and East and North Foxborough. The other villages were West and South Foxborough, Foxvale, Foxborough Furnace, and Donkeyville.
The Orpheum Theater
The Orpheum Theatre was built as a silent movie house. Purchased in 1918 by Frank W. Perry, a former trolley company employee who had become the owner of the local bus line with Foxborough as the hub, the current building was built in 1926 as a silent movie house with an alleged 550 seats, all the more to encourage bus ridership. The movie house was closed in 1989 for good, the Orpheum Theatre was reborn as a performing arts stage in 1993.
Schaefer Stadium was built. Construction began on September 23, 1970 and was completed in just under a year for the start of the 1971 NFL season. Schaefer Stadium was renamed Sullivan Stadium on May 23, 1983.
The New England Patriots
The New England Patriots played their first game at Schaefer Stadium on August 15, 1971 against the New York Giants when over 60,000 fans filled the stadium. Robert Kraft purchased the Patriots on January 21, 1994. The stadium was demolished in the spring of 2002.
The Patriots moved into Gillette Stadium the next year.
New England Revolution
New England Revolution moved to Gillette Stadium. The Patriots won Super Bowl XXXVI later that year against the Rams in an upset victory.
Patriot Place opens, offering a variety of innovative entertainment, shopping, and medical venues.