Plainville is home to Plainridge Park Casino, which, in addition to having a casino with slots and restaurants, also has the state’s only live harness race track with betting. Plainville is also home to a unique bookstore owned by Jeff Kinney, who wrote and created the Diary of a Wimpy Kid children’s book series, which often offers special events and speakers. Swing by the Hawkins Woods open space area for a hike, or 18 holes of free disc golf. Plainville’s atmosphere is geared to families. It is a town filled with beautiful parks, perfect for an outdoor picnic, old school diners and ice cream shops!
Matchinamook, a Native American, was the first to settle the land which is now known as Plainville. The town soon became known as “Slackville” after influential landowner Benjamin Slack who owned much of the property in the area.
The Angle Tree Stone
The Angle Tree Stone was erected to commemorate the tree which had marked the border between Massachusetts Bay and Plymouth colonies since 1640. In the present day, the stone represents the border between Plainville and North Attleborough.
Plainville Formally Incorporated
On April 4th, Plainville was formally incorporated, separating itself from the town of Wrentham. It was named Plainville due to the fact that over the years the people of Wrentham had labelled the area “the plains” due to its flat geography.
The town voted to buy the Metcalf property which would later become the Town Park.
Plainridge Racecourse is transformed into Massachussett’s first casino, Plainridge Park. This casino features restaurants, games, and live racing.
An Unlikely Story
The opening of “An Unlikely Story” bookstore, owned by the esteemed writer of Diary of a Wimpy Kid Jeff Kinney.